Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

In Reception, we follow the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage and Development Matters which is the non-statutory curriculum guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage (2021). Please click on the links to the documents below to find out more. 


The four themes of a unique child, positive relationships, enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, learning and development, and the principles that inform them, underpin and shape our practice:

  • Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be independent and strong through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual needs and interests and help them to build their learning over time. There is a strong partnership and positive relationship between practitioners and parents and carers which benefits the children in our setting.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas of the curriculum.  At Long Buckby Infant School, we develop the characteristics of effective learning through:

  • Playing and exploring -They are given opportunities to find out and explore, play with what they know and develop the willingness to ‘have a go’ so that they become engaged in their learning.
  • Active learning - They learn to become involved, concentrate, keep trying and enjoy achieving so that they are motivated to learn.
  • Creating and thinking critically – They are encouraged to have their own ideas, can make links and can choose ways of doing things to develop their thinking skills.

Through our engaging themes, we plan activities that will capture the imagination of the children and will meet their needs so that they can thrive.  Adults in the setting support and extend children through the provision made and through open ended questioning to promote their thinking skills and help children to make choices and reach their potential.

Learning takes place both inside and outside, through a range of adult led and child initiated activities. Throughout the day children will take part in whole class, small group and individual learning opportunities.




The curriculum for Foundation Stage is organised into seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programmes in our early years setting. The educational programmes that we plan, involve activities and experiences for children, as set out under each of the areas of learning. There are 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas of learning, all of which are inter-connected and important. The prime areas are essential because they lay the foundations for children's success in all other areas of learning and for life. The prime areas are strengthened and applied through the specific areas which include essential skills and knowledge and important contexts for learning.

The three prime areas are

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas are:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design


For more information, click below to read our EYFS policy.